Some Republicans said they disagreed with the legislation passed Wednesday for characterizing the Capitol siege as an “insurrection.”

The House passed a bill Wednesday to honor the Capitol Police officers who protected the building during January 6 riots with Congressional Gold Medals. The vote passed 413 to 12.
The bipartisan legislation authorized the creation of three medals to officers of the Capitol Police and the Metropolitan Police Department, who helped in defending the US Capitol from pro-Trump rioters who stormed the building.
Last month, Capitol Police Officer Eugene Goodman was awarded the Congressional Gold Medal for his actions in diverting a crowd of rioters away from the Senate chamber on January 6. The legislation mentions Goodman as well as late officer Brian Sicknick, who died from his injuries sustained during the siege, and two officers who died by suicide after the insurrection.
Some Republicans took issue with the legislation’s language, particularly in that it referred to the events that transpired on January 6 as an “insurrection.” All of the 12 nay votes to the legislation came from Republican lawmakers.
Rep. Matt Gaetz of Florida described the bill as “offensive” because of its inclusion of “these editorial comments about the Jan. 6 sequence of events.” Rep. Thomas Massie of Kentucky said he disagreed with categorizing the riots as an “insurrection,” expressing concern that the label could be used by prosecutors.
Here are the 12 Republicans who voted against the legislation: